back to the homepage Telephone LINE
Drone shot of Xinxikou Suspension Bridge

How does wind affect drone flight?

A gust of wind can put your drone at risk 

Every drone pilot knows not to fly in extreme weather conditions: rain, snow and hail. But even experienced drone pilots don't always measure wind conditions correctly. In this article, we will teach you how to distinguish between beneficial and threatening winds.

How wind affects your flight

take off

Strong winds can make takeoffs extremely difficult. A drone's ground wind flow is covered by the wind - making the drone more likely to flip or be taken out of its flight pattern by the wind. The pilot should stand in front of the drone facing the wind so that there is a shelter from the wind. 

landing

Strong winds are often accompanied by more extreme weather. Fast winds could signal an even bigger incoming threat: thunderstorms. Strong winds - we are characterised by wind speeds above 24 mph - can make it difficult to properly control the drone during flight and make a forced landing. Even with a portable helipad or soft, dry surface to land on, it can be difficult to ensure that your drone won't lose control with the propellers slowing down. 

battery drained

When flying in strong winds, the drone's battery can drain quickly. More energy used to fight wind means faster consumption, just like an airplane needs more fuel to fight strong winds. Flying in the wind means the drone has a shorter flight time. If you want to fly your drone for a longer period of time, it is necessary and important to carry the drone with you to replace the battery. Additionally, many pilots overestimate the battery life of their drones, which makes their drones more likely to fail mid-flight and not be able to return or land safely. 

microburst

What is a microburst?

A microburst is a strong downdraft that causes strong headwinds. It usually occurs at 1-2 nautical miles and a vertical distance of 1,000 feet. These microbursts are short and painful - they can reach as high as68 mph winds. After the microburst is generated, it increases in speed and direction for up to 5 minutes, then lasts for 10-20 minutes.

Why worry about microbursts?

Microbursts are truly unexpected wind gusts that can affect drone flight, especially during takeoff and landing. Microbursts can change direction very quickly, meaning a strong headwind has turned into a strong tailwind, changing the drone's path. A headwind can significantly increase the speed of the drone, while a tailwind can greatly reduce the performance of the drone. Microbursts can disrupt takeoffs and landings because that's when the drone's propellers are at their slowest, and sudden high winds can displace your drone. 

Tips for Flying in the Wind

keep an extra battery

Flying against the wind will be significantly reduceddrone battery life, which in turn makes flight times unpredictable. Stick to flying the drone for up to two-thirds of the listed flight time in high wind speeds to avoid the drone stopping mid-flight and crashing unexpectedly. 

fly shorter distances

This trick goes hand in hand with having an extra battery on hand. Strong winds can seriously affect your drone's flight patterns - you could lose your drone! When flying in strong winds, keep the drone within sight, as the drone GPS cannot be relied upon in strong winds. 

don't fly over people

In strong winds, the drone's mechanisms tend to overreact. When encountering gusts of wind, the drone accelerates, but when those gusts suddenly slow down, the drone cannot immediately recalibrate its speed. Therefore, it is important to keep your drone at a great distance from nearby objects or people - this can be a dangerous situation!

Why choose Zhenhe:

  • We have creative and rich photography experience: when operating the aerial camera, Zhenhe always has two people to ensure the best picture during the flight, but not neglect the flight safety
  • We are efficient: most of our cases are completed and sent to clients within 48 hours
  • All drones are insured, and all pilots have a certificate from the Civil Aviation Administration

About Zhenhe:

The core values are: integration, integrity, professionalism, innovation, and thinking about problems from the perspective of customers, thinking about the possible reactions of users and audiences, and delivering the most complete solutions after continuous adjustment.

Contact us now for customized service

Share your love

Leave a Reply

回到首頁 電話 LINE
無人機拍新溪口吊橋

風如何影響無人機飛行?

一陣風會給您的無人機造成危險 

每個無人機飛行員都知道不要在極端天氣條件下飛行:雨、雪和冰雹。但即使是經驗豐富的無人機飛行員也並不總是能正確測量風況。在本文中,我們將教您如何區分有益風和威脅風。

風如何影響您的飛行

起飛

強風會使起飛變得極其困難。無人機的地面風流被風覆蓋——這使得無人機更有可能翻轉或被風帶離其飛行模式。飛行員應站在無人機前方迎風,這樣會有擋風的地方。 

降落

強風往往伴隨著更極端的天氣。快速風速可能預示著更大的來襲威脅:雷暴。強風——我們以高於 24 英里/小時的風速為特徵——可能會導致難以在飛行過程中正確控制無人機並迫降。即使有攜帶式停機坪或柔軟乾燥的表面可供降落,也很難確保您的無人機不會因為螺旋槳減速而失控。 

電池電量耗盡

在強風飛行時,無人機的電池會很快耗盡。更多的能量用於對抗風意味著更快的消耗,就像飛機需要更多的燃料來對抗強風一樣。在風中飛行意味著無人機的飛行時間更短。如果您想飛行更長時間的無人機,攜帶無人機更換電池是必要且重要的。此外,許多飛行員高估了他們無人機的電池壽命,這使得他們的無人機更有可能在飛行中失敗並且無法安全返回或著陸。 

微爆

什麼是微爆?

微爆是一種強烈的下降氣流,會導致強烈的逆風。它通常發生在 1-2 海哩,垂直距離為 1,000 英尺。這些微爆是短暫而痛苦的——它們可以達到高達68 英里/小時的風速。微爆產生後,它會在速度和方向上增強最多 5 分鐘,然後持續 10-20 分鐘。

為什麼要擔心微爆?

微爆是真正出乎意料的陣風,會影響無人機的飛行,尤其是在起飛和著陸期間。微爆可以非常迅速地改變方向,這意味著強大的逆風已經變成了強大的順風,從而改變了無人機的路徑。逆風可以顯著提高無人機的速度,而順風可以大大降低無人機的性能。微爆可能會擾亂起飛和著陸,因為這是無人機的螺旋槳最慢的時候,突然的大風會使你的無人機移位。 

在風中飛行的技巧

保留一個額外的電池

逆風飛行會顯著降低無人機的電池壽命,進而使飛行時間變得難以預測。堅持在大風速下飛行最多三分之二的無人機列出的飛行時間,以避免無人機在飛行中停止並意外墜毀。 

飛得更短的距離

這個技巧與手頭有一個額外的電池是相輔相成的。強風會嚴重影響無人機的飛行模式——你可能會丟失無人機!在強風中飛行時,請將無人機保持在視線範圍內,因為在強風中無法依靠無人機 GPS。 

不要飛過人

在強風中,無人機的機制往往反應過度。當遇到陣風時,無人機會加速,但當這些陣風突然減速時,無人機無法立即重新校準速度。因此,重要的是讓您的無人機與附近的物體或人保持很遠的距離——這可能是一個危險的情況!

為什麼選擇 振禾:

  • 我們具創意與豐富的攝影經驗:在操作空拍機時, 振禾 總是會有兩個人,確保飛行時有最好的畫面,卻不疏忽飛航安全
  • 我們很有效率:我們大部分的案件,都能在48小時內完成並發送給客戶
  • 全部無人機皆有保險,所有飛行人員皆具有民航局證照

關於 振禾:

核心價值為:統整、誠信、專業、創新,並將心比心的站在客戶的角度思考問題,同時思考使用者及受眾可能有的反應,經過不斷調整,交出最完善的解決方案。

立刻與我們聯絡取得客制化服務

分享你的喜愛

發佈留言