back to the homepage Telephone LINE
mavic 3 drone battery

Lithium Polymer Batteries: A User's Guide to Drones

Taking your drone on its maiden flight is almost a spiritual experience when you see this drone do our bidding (hopefully). However, if you are unable to select, install and maintain your lithium polymer battery, your maiden flight may blow up or lose power on the first launch. While consumer-grade drones still tend to offer shorter flight times, professional-grade drones are flying longer than ever thanks to the use of different lithium-polymer batteries.

What is Lithium Polymer?

LiPo It means lithium polymer. The purpose of this article is to provide a theoretical overview of LiPo technology, which you can find at here Find more detailed explanations

Drones and lithium-polymer batteries are the best match when it comes to delivering longer flight times, lighter weight, and greater flexibility. The chemical composition of LiPo allows for higher capacities and higher discharge rates. This means that a properly maintained lithium polymer battery pack can give your drone more "fly time", which is

Lithium Polymer vs Lithium Ion

When researching LiPo batteries, you may come across the term Lithium-Ion battery. Are they the same? It could be said yes or no.

Of course, both are made of lithium (can you remember their numbers on the periodic table without peeking?). Both rely on chemical processes that can lead to fires if not handled properly. Li-ion batteries are usually packaged in a more robust structure compared to LiPo.

Many lithium-ion battery models are similar to slightly larger AA batteries (batteries), and multiple batteries are often placed in hard plastic packaging for higher energy use (as found in laptop computers). Lithium-ion batteries are mainly found in power tools, computers and cell phones.

Lithium-polymer batteries don't leak because they're usually wrapped in aluminum-plastic film, which is stronger than lithium-ion batteries. LiPo is thinner - as low as 1mm.

Depending on the case, Li-polymer batteries are typically 20-40% lighter than their distant cousins. They also offer higher power output and higher capacity. In short, LiPo is to lithium-ion batteries what a fitness trainer is to a weak chicken.

Make it stay in the sky longer.

Unlike other rechargeable batteries, Li-polymer batteries hardly self-discharge. So they can be stored for 1-2 months and still fly.

However, LiPo chemistry is more volatile than other types of batteries, so it requires extra care when storing, transporting or transporting it. Improperly maintained Li-polymer batteries can cause fires.

Which Lithium Polymer Battery is Best for Your Drone?

Like many questions in life, the answer is "see the needs".

Unless you're building a DIY drone, your battery choices will be limited by the manufacturer. Most drones can handle batteries that provide various total flight times, but your choices will still be limited by the drone's maximum takeoff weight. But - longer flight times mean higher costs.

Choosing the right battery is like choosing the right car—some people want to get up and go; others want fuel efficiency. Do you like FPV flying? Your LiPo will need to provide a higher discharge rate to get the extra burst speed. Larger batteries can be useful for longer flight times, but again, longer battery life means heavier batteries.

How much should you have? Depends on how often you fly and what type of mission you perform. In the field, it's a good idea to have some spare batteries on hand. It also means buying a few extra chargers.

storage, transport and disposal

In case we didn't say enough - Lithium-polymer batteries are safe, but they can volatilize if not handled properly. Always store them in a fireproof place - you can even buy special fireproof bags. Some experts recommend storing them in metal ammo boxes. LiPo is stored at room temperature with a charge of about 50%.

Immediate action is required if the battery is burned, leaked, punctured or corroded. The following steps are recommended:

"Put the battery or device in a non-flammable material such as sand or cat litter as soon as possible. Contact the manufacturer's website or the retailer where you purchased it to see if the battery or device has been recalled. If so, follow the instructions.

Travel with your LiPo

You may be traveling with your drone because you plan to use it and travel smoothly; it is important to know the rules and requirements before packing your travel equipment, as the last thing we want is to hand over a brand new LiPo drone battery to local customs .

Checked Baggage and Carry-on Baggage

Passengers are now required to put detached batteries in their carry-on luggage. When checking carry-on baggage at the gate or on the side of the plane, all spare lithium batteries must be removed from the baggage and placed in the cabin with the passenger. This essentially means that if flying alone, you can carry up to three lithium polymer batteries. Plan to pack a drone with batteries in your checked baggage. If you happen to be flying with a friend or family member who is not a drone pilot , you can always ask them to bring some batteries for you.

power limit

Lithium batteries over 100 watt-hours are permitted as carry-on baggage with airline approval, but only two spare batteries are allowed per passenger.

The responsibility of the drone owner is simple: "know your drone". That means knowing the basics of law, flight, electronics, parts and safety. Having a keen understanding of all things batteries forms a big part of "knowing your drone."

Lithium polymer terms

Like any complex technology, the use of lithium polymer batteries requires familiarity with some key terms.

battery and voltage

Lithium polymer batteries are assembled using rectangular cells that are connected to produce a certain voltage. One grid represents about 3.6V; 2 batteries, 7.2V, etc. The number of batteries in an off-the-shelf drone will depend on the size and design of the battery box. Of course, DIY pilots will have more options

Obviously, the more cells, the higher the voltage and the longer the flight time. For example, DJI supplies the Mavic 2 with a 14.4V four-cell LiPo battery with a flight time of 31 minutes.

capacity

Usually measured in milliamp hours (mAh), the capacity determines how long the battery can fuel the drone's motors. Simple math - the higher the mAh, the longer the flight time. But there's a trade-off -- higher capacity means a heavier battery. Another benchmark - DJI supplies the Phantom 4 with a 15.2V Li-polymer battery with a capacity of 5870 mAh and a weight of about 1 pound. This translates to approximately 30 minutes of flight time.

discharge rate

The discharge rate of the lithium polymer battery determines its energy extraction rate for powering the drone motor. This is probably one of the most important terms to understand.

The discharge rate is measured by the C rating. As with most LiPo terms, the higher the number, the heavier the battery. Once you know the C rating, you can calculate the estimated flight time by first finding the battery's maximum continuous current draw (A).

Do the calculation: Multiply the C rating by the mAh (convert four digits to two digits). This will provide "A" amps of current from the battery.

Example: 5870 mAh rated at 10C draws 58.7 A (current draw).

Once you have these numbers, you can plug them into an online calculator to estimate the flight time of your LiPo battery.

Why choose Zhenhe:

  • We have creative and rich photography experience: when operating the aerial camera, Zhenhe always has two people to ensure the best picture during the flight, but not neglect the flight safety
  • We are efficient: most of our cases are completed and sent to clients within 48 hours
  • All drones are insured, and all pilots have a certificate from the Civil Aviation Administration

About Zhenhe:

The core values are: integration, integrity, professionalism, innovation, and thinking about problems from the perspective of customers, thinking about the possible reactions of users and audiences, and delivering the most complete solutions after continuous adjustment.

Contact us now for customized service

Share your love

Leave a Reply

回到首頁 電話 LINE
mavic 3無人機電池

鋰聚合物電池:無人機用戶指南

當您看到這架無人機按我們的指令(希望如此)時,將您的無人機進行處女航幾乎是一種精神體驗。但是,如果您無法選擇、安裝和維護您的鋰聚合物電池,您的處女航可能會在首次發射時炸機或斷電。雖然消費級無人機仍然傾向於提供較短的飛行時間,但由於使用不同的鋰聚合物電池,專業級無人機的飛行時間比以往任何時候都長。

什麼是鋰聚合物?

LiPo 的意思是鋰聚合物。本文的目的是提供對 LiPo 技術的理論概述,你可以在 這邊 找到更多詳細的解說

在提供更長的飛行時間、更輕的重量和更靈活的靈活性方面,無人機和鋰聚合物電池是最好的搭配。LiPo 的化學成分允許更高的容量和更高的放電率。這意味著維護得當的鋰聚合物電池組可以為您的無人機提供更多“飛行時間”,就是

鋰聚合物與鋰離子

在研究 LiPo 電池時,您可能會遇到鋰離子電池一詞。他們是一樣的嗎?可以說是也可以說不是。

當然,兩者都是由鋰組成的(你能不偷看就記住它們在元素週期表上的數字嗎?)。兩者都依賴於化學過程,如果處理不當,可能會導致火災。與 LiPo 相比,鋰離子電池通常封裝在更堅固的結構中。

許多鋰離子電池型號類似於稍大的 AA 電池(電池),並且多個電池通常放置在硬塑料包裝中以用於更高能量的使用(如筆記本電腦中所見)。鋰離子電池主要存在於電動工具、電腦和手機中。

鋰聚合物電池不會洩漏,因為它們通常被鋁塑料薄膜包裹,比鋰離子電池更堅固。LiPo 的厚度更小——低至 1 毫米。

根據外殼的不同,鋰聚合物電池通常比它們的遠親輕 20-40%。它們還提供更高的功率輸出和更高的容量。簡而言之,LiPo 之於鋰離子電池就像健身教練之於弱雞。

使其在天空中停留更長時間。

與其他可充電電池不同,鋰聚合物電池幾乎不會自放電。因此,它們可以存放 1-2 個月,並且仍然可以飛行。

然而,LiPo 化學物質比其他類型的電池更易揮發,因此在儲存、運輸或運輸時需要格外小心。維護不當的鋰聚合物電池可能會引發火災。

哪種鋰聚合物電池最適合您的無人機?

就像生活中的許多問題一樣,答案是“看需求”。

除非您正在製造 DIY 無人機,否則您的電池選擇將受到製造商的限制。大多數無人機可以處理提供各種總飛行時間的電池,但您的選擇仍將受到無人機最大起飛重量的限制。但是——更長的飛行時間意味著更高的成本。

選擇合適的電池就像選擇合適的汽車——有些人想要起床然後走;其他人想要燃油效率。你喜歡 FPV 飛行嗎?您的 LiPo 將需要提供更高的放電速率才能獲得額外的爆發速度。對於更長的飛行時間,大容量電池可能會很有用,但同樣,更長的續航時間意味著更重的電池。

你應該擁有多少?取決於您飛行的頻率以及您執行的任務類型。在現場,手頭有一些備用電池是個好主意。這也意味著要多買幾個充電器。

儲存、運輸和處置

萬一我們說得不夠多——鋰聚合物電池是安全的,但如果處理不當,它會揮發。始終將它們存放在防火的地方——您甚至可以購買特殊的防火袋。一些專家建議將它們存放在金屬彈藥箱中。在室溫下以約 50% 的電量存儲 LiPo。

如果電池被燒毀、洩漏、刺破或腐蝕,需要立即採取措施。推薦以下步驟:

“盡快將電池或設備放在沙子或貓砂等不易燃材料中。聯絡製造商網站或您購買它的零售商,以查看電池或設備是否已被召回。如果有,請按照說明進行操作。

帶著你的 LiPo 去旅行

您可能會帶著您的無人機旅行,因為您打算使用它並順利出遊;在打包旅行設備之前了解規則和要求很重要,因為我們最不想要的就是將全新 LiPo 無人機電池交給當地的海關。

托運行李和隨身行李

現在要求乘客將分離的電池放在隨身行李中。在登機口或機旁托運隨身行李時,必須從行李中取出所有備用鋰電池,並與乘客一起放在機艙內。” 這實質上意味著,如果獨自飛行,您最多可以攜帶三個鋰聚合物電池。計劃將裝有電池的無人機裝在托運行李中。如果您碰巧與非無人機飛行員的朋友或家人一起飛行,您可以隨時要求他們為您攜帶一些電池。

功率限制

經航空公司批准,可允許攜帶超過 100 瓦時的鋰電池作為隨身行李攜帶,但每位乘客只能攜帶兩塊備用電池。

無人機所有者的責任很簡單:“了解你的無人機”。這意味著了解法律、飛行、電子、零件和安全的基礎知識。對電池的所有事物有敏銳的了解構成了“了解你的無人機”的很大一部分。

鋰聚合物條款

像任何復雜的技術一樣,鋰聚合物電池的使用需要熟悉一些關鍵術語。

電池和電壓

鋰聚合物電池使用連接以產生一定電壓的矩形電池組裝。一格代表3.6V左右;2節電池,7.2V等。現成無人機的電池數量將取決於電池盒的尺寸和設計。當然,DIY 飛行員會有更多選擇

顯然,電芯數量越多,電壓越高,飛行時間越長。例如,DJI 為 Mavic 2 提供 14.4V 的四芯 LiPo 電池,飛行時間為 31 分鐘。

容量

通常以毫安時 (mAh) 為單位,容量決定了電池可以為無人機的電機提供多長時間的燃料。簡單的數學 – mAh 越高,飛行時間越長。但有一個權衡——更高的容量意味著更重的電池。另一個基準測試——DJI 為 Phantom 4 提供 15.2V 鋰聚合物電池,容量為 5870 mAh,重量約為 1 磅。這將轉化為大約 30 分鐘的飛行時間。

放電率

鋰聚合物電池的放電率決定了其為無人機電機供電的能量提取率。這可能是需要理解的最重要的術語之一。

放電率由 C 等級測量。與大多數 LiPo 術語一樣,數字越大,電池越重。一旦您知道 C 等級,您可以通過首先找到電池的最大連續電流消耗 (A) 來計算估計的飛行時間。

進行計算:將 C 等級乘以 mAh(將四位數轉換為兩位數)。這將提供電池的“A”安培電流。

示例:額定值為 10C 的 5870 mAh 的電流為 58.7 A(電流消耗)。

獲得這些數字後,您可以將它們插入在線計算器,以估算 LiPo 電池的飛行時間。

為什麼選擇 振禾:

  • 我們具創意與豐富的攝影經驗:在操作空拍機時, 振禾 總是會有兩個人,確保飛行時有最好的畫面,卻不疏忽飛航安全
  • 我們很有效率:我們大部分的案件,都能在48小時內完成並發送給客戶
  • 全部無人機皆有保險,所有飛行人員皆具有民航局證照

關於 振禾:

核心價值為:統整、誠信、專業、創新,並將心比心的站在客戶的角度思考問題,同時思考使用者及受眾可能有的反應,經過不斷調整,交出最完善的解決方案。

立刻與我們聯絡取得客制化服務

分享你的喜愛

發佈留言