back to the homepage Telephone LINE

Drones are becoming personal flying machines

We succeeded in making an aircraft for personal use. But do you know what will happen in the end? Humans can ride on drones with horns.

When Peter Ternström was a kid in Sweden, Peter Ternström wanted to build a sci-fi style flying machine. In 1983, he watched five times"Return of the Jedi"And dream of riding a hovercraft through the forest of Endor. But as a bright young nerd, he quickly realized that hovering a vehicle was impossible.

"No propulsion system would work," he recalled with a sigh. Of course, people have been trying to make personal flight devices for decades - most notably jetpacks. But jetpack physics is a nightmare. Strap an explosive fuel tank to your body and try not to burn your legs? Not really personal mobilityScalablesolution.

So Ternström put aside his youthful dreams and went on to become an internet millionaire by building an online learning platform and the Swedish version of Mailchimp. Flying cars, that won't happen.

Except the technology is developing in an interesting way. While Ternström was doing these web companies, a different kind of flying technology was emerging that didn't have the problems of jetpacks: drones.

When they first became mainstream in the '00s, drones were toys, rickety and difficult to fly, and their batteries drained within minutes. But as demand from hobbyists and hobbyists grew, so did the quality of the parts. Motors got better and batteries got more durable. Tilt sensors became cheap and high-quality, and open-source coders wrote software that made drones self-stabilizing so they were easy to fly with zero training.

In 2012, Ternström met an old friend who had been building drones to carry cameras for Hollywood film productions. Ternström took some pictures with him, and as he watched the drones fly around, Ternström started thinking: Well, why not make a veryBigWhat about a drone, put a seat on it, and then carry a person?

So he and his partner did it. They founded Jetson, and the company is now selling its first honest hovering private jet model: the Jetson ONE, a $92,000 unit made from lightweight aluminum and carbon fiber, eight drone propellers and dozens of made of batteries. In the video, Ternström zips down the Italian countryside about 6 feet above the ground, looking eerily like the Endor accelerator he once dreamed of.

"Flying it was an extremely ecstatic experience," he told me. "All the bird DNA you collect from millions of years ago comes up and goes, 'Wow, wait, I've done this before!'" he said, adding that his company has 320 pre-orders and he aims to start deliveries by the end of 2023 . Buyers are mostly "well-known people from California." I wouldn't say 'Mark Zuckerberg,' but, you know, going around that circle. "

Ternström was one of the first to sell a drone-like vehicle, but he's not alone. Dozens of companies around the world are now building "electric vertical take-off and landing" (eVTOL) vehicles. Their goal is to bring in vehicles and gradually improve them to fly from city centers to airports within 10 years—because, unlike planes, they don't need runways, and the software guidance is so extensive that pilots require little or no skills. (Some of these companies aim to have their vehicles piloted remotely, or fly autonomously.) Some models move the propellers sideways while flying, so they cruise the aircraft.

Science fiction illustrations have long depicted people navigating cities in small flying machines. Now, those golden age pilots may finally be here — "they're just big drones," says Chris Anderson, COO of longtime drone pioneer and chief operating officer of eVTOL company Kittyhawk (and former editor-in-chief of WIRED).

Consider this a lesson in innovation: big breakthroughs don't always come from what you expect.

We often think that the greatest innovations come from the brilliant minds gathered in a lab or company — Apple's designers making smartphones, OpenAI's experts at coding GPT-3, Tesla engineers building a truly elegant electric car. But just as often, perhaps more often, innovation is the result of hobbyists tinkering with what seems silly or a toy. exactlybecauseThese environments are low-risk, and hackers and hobbyists can gradually improve the core technology until they are suddenly ready to do more ambitious things.

The drone car experiment failed in this way. Jeff Elkins, an electrical engineer and founder of Dragon Air, built his own flying device in 2011 by placing drone propellers on a platform. You stand on it, grab a few poles, and lean on it to steer it. "While it doesn't sound intuitive, it's actually a great way to fly," he told me. His test pilot had completed a flight of up to 20 minutes.

The idea of a human piloting a flying car might seem crazy — we're bad enough drivers in 2D. Adding a third seems tounwise. But Volocopter CEO Florian Reuter said years of software innovations that made drones easy to fly have automated much of the difficulty in flying.

"Our first test pilot, on his first flight, his comment was, 'This is the most boring maiden flight ever,'" Reuters told me. You don't have to worry about staying steady or reacting to sudden gusts of wind; the software takes care of that. You just use the joystick-like controls to point where you want to go. "You don't need any driving skills," he said.

Building an aircraft out of drone parts has other advantages, namely safety through redundancy: a single propeller can fail while others continue to operate. ifrealSomething went wrong? Several companies have installed ballistic parachutes in their machines. Lift Aircraft's HEXA is a flying machine that executives say pops so fast that it can rescue passengers from as low as 40 feet. The Jetson ONE also has a ballistic parachute, though Ternström says you have to be at least 100 feet in the air to really save you. He expects most Jetson ONE riders to stick to the ground, and in the event of an accident, you're not saved by a parachute, but by a roll cage.

"You will break an arm. It will be painful, but you will not die," Ternström said.

So: Sci-fi aircraft can be built. But will they really change the way we travel? It's a different question because it's not about technology, it's about regulation - which is bound to be much slower.

Currently, the only driverless cars that can be legally driven are lightweight and can be called "ultra-lightweight." (Jetson ONE, HEXA, and Jeff Elkins' aircraft all count.) With ultralights, you don't even need a pilot's license, although they can't fly over crowded areas. So the first driverless cars were basically for a ride.

For now, whatever. Many companies, such as Kitty Hawk, Volocopter or China's EHang, are already building larger passenger vehicles -- some of which fly fully autonomously -- with the aim of creating all-around air taxis that will allow us to fly around cities . Note that it would take the FAA a decade or more to approve these, assuming they ever did. But at the same time, one thing is clear: drones have grown up — into something very unexpected.

Why choose Zhenhe:

  • We have creative and rich photography experience: when operating the aerial camera, Zhenhe always has two people to ensure the best picture during the flight, but not neglect the flight safety
  • We are efficient: most of our cases are completed and sent to clients within 48 hours
  • All drones are insured, and all pilots have a certificate from the Civil Aviation Administration

About Zhenhe:

The core values are: integration, integrity, professionalism, innovation, and thinking about problems from the perspective of customers, thinking about the possible reactions of users and audiences, and delivering the most complete solutions after continuous adjustment.

Contact us now for customized service

Share your love

Leave a Reply

回到首頁 電話 LINE

無人機正在變成個人飛行器

我們成功的做出了個人使用的飛行器。但你知道最後會發生什麼嗎?人可以乘坐的有喇叭無人機。

Peter Ternström在瑞典還是個孩子的時候,Peter Ternström 想製造一個科幻風格的飛行器。1983 年,他五次觀看了《絕地歸來》,並夢想著乘坐懸浮飛車穿越恩多森林。但作為一個聰明的年輕書呆子,他很快意識到懸停車輛是不可能的。

“沒有任何推進系統可以工作,”他嘆了口氣回憶道。當然,幾十年來人們一直在嘗試製造個人飛行設備——最著名的是噴氣背包。但噴氣背包物理學是一場噩夢。將一個爆炸性燃料箱綁在你的身體上,並試圖不燒掉你的腿?並不是真正的個人移動性可擴展解決方案。

因此,Ternström 擱置了他年輕時的夢想,通過建立在線學習平台和瑞典版 Mailchimp 繼續成為互聯網百萬富翁。飛行汽車,不會發生。

除了技術以一種有趣的方式發展。在 Ternström 做這些網絡公司時,一種不同的飛行技術正在出現,它沒有噴氣背包的問題:無人機。

當它們在 00 年代首次成為主流時,無人機只是玩具,搖搖晃晃且難以飛行,電池在幾分鐘內就會耗盡。但隨著業餘愛好者和愛好者需求的增長,零件的質量也隨之提高。電機變得更好,電池變得更耐用。傾斜傳感器變得廉價和高質量,開源編碼人員編寫了使無人機自我穩定的軟件,因此在零訓練的情況下也很容易飛行。

2012 年,Ternström 遇到了一位老朋友,他一直在為好萊塢電影製作製造無人機來攜帶相機。Ternström 和他一起拍攝了一些照片,當他看著無人機飛來飛去時,Ternström 開始思考:嗯,為什麼不製造一個非常的無人機,在上面安上一個座位,然後載一個人呢?

所以他和他的搭檔做到了。他們成立了 Jetson,這家公司現在正在銷售其第一款誠實的懸停私人飛機模型:Jetson ONE,這是一個價值 92,000 美元的裝置,由輕質鋁和碳纖維、八個無人機螺旋槳和數十個電池製成。在視頻中,Ternström 沿著距離地面約 6 英尺的意大利鄉村飛馳而過,看起來怪異地就像他曾經夢想的那輛 Endor 加速器。

“飛行它是一種極度欣喜若狂的體驗,”他告訴我。“你從數百萬年前採集的所有鳥類 DNA 都會出現,‘哇,等一下,我以前做過!’”他補充說,他的公司有 320 份預訂單,他的目標是開始交付2023年底。買家大多是“來自加利福尼亞的知名人士”。我不會說‘馬克·扎克伯格’,但是,你知道,圍繞那個圈子。”

Ternström 是最早出售無人機式飛行器的人之一,但他並不孤單。全球數十家公司現在正在製造“電動垂直起降”(eVTOL)車輛。他們的目標是引進車輛並逐步對其進行改進,以便在 10 年內從市中心飛到機場——因為與飛機不同,它們不需要跑道,而且軟件引導非常多,飛行員幾乎不需要任何技能。(其中一些公司的目標是讓他們的飛行器遠程駕駛,或自主飛行。)一些模型在飛行時將螺旋槳側向移動,因此它們採用飛機巡航方式。

長久以來,科幻插圖描繪了人們乘坐小型飛行器在城市中穿梭。現在,那些黃金時代的飛行員可能終於到來了——“他們只是大型無人機,”長期無人機先驅和 eVTOL 公司 Kittyhawk 的首席運營官(以及 WIRED 的前總編輯)的首席運營官克里斯安德森說。

將此視為創新的一課:重大突破並不總是來自您所期望的。

我們經常認為,最大的創新來自聚集在實驗室或公司中的傑出人才——Apple 的設計師製作智能手機,OpenAI 編碼 GPT-3 的專家,特斯拉工程師建造了一輛真正優雅的電動汽車。但同樣經常,也許更多時候,創新是業餘愛好者對看似愚蠢或玩具的東西進行修補的結果。正是因為這些環境是低風險的,黑客和愛好者才可以逐漸改進核心技術,直到他們突然準備好做更雄心勃勃的事情。

無人機汽車實驗以這種方式失敗了。傑夫·埃爾金斯(Jeff Elkins)是一名電氣工程師,也是 Dragon Air 的創始人,他在 2011 年通過在平台上佈置無人機螺旋槳製造了自己的飛行設備。你站在它上面,抓住幾根桿子,然後靠在上面來操縱它。“雖然聽起來不直觀,但它實際上是一種很好的飛行方式,”他告訴我。他的試飛員已經完成了長達 20 分鐘的飛行。

人類駕駛飛行汽車的想法可能看起來很瘋狂——我們在二維方面已經夠糟糕的司機了。添加第三個似乎不明智。但 Volocopter 首席執行官弗洛里安·羅伊特 (Florian Reuter) 表示,多年來使無人機易於駕駛的軟件創新已經自動化了飛行中的大部分困難。

“我們的第一個試飛員,在他的第一次飛行中,他的評論是,’這是有史以​​來最無聊的處女航,’”路透社告訴我。您不必擔心保持穩定或對突然的陣風做出反應;該軟件負責處理。您只需使用類似操縱桿的控件來指向您想去的地方。“你不需要任何駕駛技能,”他說。

用無人機部件製造飛行器還有其他優勢,即通過冗餘確保安全:單個螺旋槳可能會發生故障,而其他螺旋槳會繼續運行。如果真的出了問題?幾家公司在他們的機器中安裝了彈道降落傘。Lift Aircraft 的 HEXA 是一款飛行機器,高管們稱其彈出速度非常快,可以將乘客從低至 40 英尺的高度拯救出來。Jetson ONE 也有一個彈道降落傘,儘管 Ternström 說你必須在空中至少 100 英尺才能真正拯救你。他預計大多數 Jetson ONE 車手會緊貼地面,在發生事故時,您不會被降落傘拯救,而是被防滾架拯救。

“你會折斷一條胳膊。這會很痛苦,但你不會死,”Ternström 說。

所以:可以建造科幻飛行器。不過,它們真的會改變我們的出行方式嗎?這是一個不同的問題,因為它不是關於技術,而是關於監管——這必然會慢得多。

目前,唯一可以合法駕駛的無人駕駛汽車是輕量級的,可以稱為“超輕型”。(Jetson ONE、HEXA 和 Jeff Elkins 的飛行器都算在內。)使用超輕型飛機,您甚至不需要飛行員執照,儘管它們不能飛越擁擠的區域。所以第一批無人駕駛汽車基本上是為了兜風。

就目前而言,無論如何。許多公司,如 Kitty Hawk、Volocopter 或中國的億航,已經在製造更大的載客車輛——其中一些是完全自主飛行的——目的是創造出全能的空中出租車,讓我們在城市中飛行。請注意,假設他們曾經這樣做過,聯邦航空管理局將花費十年或更長時間來批准這些。但與此同時,有一點很清楚:無人機已經長大了——變成了一種非常出人意料的東西。

為什麼選擇 振禾:

  • 我們具創意與豐富的攝影經驗:在操作空拍機時, 振禾 總是會有兩個人,確保飛行時有最好的畫面,卻不疏忽飛航安全
  • 我們很有效率:我們大部分的案件,都能在48小時內完成並發送給客戶
  • 全部無人機皆有保險,所有飛行人員皆具有民航局證照

關於 振禾:

核心價值為:統整、誠信、專業、創新,並將心比心的站在客戶的角度思考問題,同時思考使用者及受眾可能有的反應,經過不斷調整,交出最完善的解決方案。

立刻與我們聯絡取得客制化服務

分享你的喜愛

發佈留言